NY Ska-Jazz Ensemble



The New York Ska-Jazz Ensemble (NYSJE) is an internationally renowned recording and touring group. Since originating the ska-jazz style and genre name in 1994, the group, led by founder Rock Steady Freddie, has released 15 albums!  Strongly committed to touring and bringing their music to people all over the world, NYSJE has logged over 70 European tours to date and continues to perform regularly throughout Europe, Canada, USA, Mexico, the Caribbean, South America and the Far East.

NYSJE’s recordings and performances have garnered critical acclaim for their high energy, creative originals, kinetic ska interpretations of jazz standards, as well as their potent mix of dance hall, reggae, rock steady and jazz.

Performance highlights include: The North Sea Jazz Festival, the Montreal Jazz Festival, The Quebec Festival de Musique, Musiques en Ete (Geneva), as well as the Bob Marley Reggae Festival (with Israel Vibration and Sister Carol), The Discover and Bell Atlantic Jazz festivals in the USA and many more worldwide. In addition, NYSJE has the singular distinction of being the first American Ska band to play in Poland after the Berlin wall came down.

The band had been featured in Downbeat, Reggae Nucleus, The Beat, Ragga and Jazziz magazines. NYSJE’s music can be heard regularly on television on the Nickelodeon network, MTVs Road Rules, as well as two nationally airing Campbell’s Soup Commercials. In Italy, their video, Properly, airs on MTV. NYSJE’s song “Prime Suspect” is featured in the HBO documentary “Redemption” which was nominated for a 2014 Academy Award. The song and documentary has been available on all Delta Airlines International flights.

Entering their 28th year, NYSJE shows no sign of slowing down, with a brand-new studio recording set for Summer 2022 release, international touring booked and a stronger than ever commitment to live performance. Forward Selector!!!


Rocksteady Freddie – saxophone/flute/vocals
Kevin Batchelor – trumpet/vocals
Mark Damon – bass/vocals
Joey Gallo – drums
Andy Mittoo – keyboards/vocals
Simone Amodeo – guitar